My tribe.

Group Therapy. So, today was group. I did not post following our first session, because it was mainly an informational session. Introduction to ADHD and an overview of future sessions. I did find, however, that I appreciate this small group of people. I appreciate that we share a similarity. We share similar struggles. My tribe.

Today, we talked about organization, which is something that I struggle with, personally. It’s incredibly difficult for someone with ADHD to prioritize, much less organize and plan. I hope that, with practice, I can develop a new skill. Who knows? Maybe I’ll end up being an Organization Queen!

The very first thing my psychiatrist wants us to do is get ourselves a notebook. Our notebook holds all notes. No more random notes scratched on post its and old receipts. We need to use the notebook to keep track of reminders and lists. Things to remember. One notebook. One notebook to rule them all.

The second thing my psychiatrist wants us to get is a calendar. The calendar is for appointments. It’s also for us to keep track of tasks we want to do. Our daily tasks.

Speaking of, we are to make one Master To-Do list per week or per month, depending on our own personal tastes. Once we make that list, we make daily lists (which we are to put in or on the calendar). Again, we use whatever time-frame we choose: daily, weekly, or monthly. Then, we prioritize the list, categorizing them according to their urgency. We are to assign the tasks using the letters A-C. Then, we are to further prioritize those tasks, assigning numbers this time. So, theoretically, task A-1 would be the most difficult or time-consuming task on the list.

Now, as we go about our day, we are to complete a task before moving on to the next task. I am going to have to really work on that one. I have difficulties finishing tasks. Ugh.

Lastly, we learned how to problem solve. It’s easy, when we have problems, to make mountains out of molehills. Way too easy. So when we have a problem, we’re supposed to write it out … no more than two to three sentences. Then, we write out every single possible solution. Then, we make lists of pros and cons and assign each solution with a rating (1-10 or a percentage). Once we make it through the entire list of solutions, the most logical solution will have presented itself, keeping in mind that the best solution may not be the most desired one.

One lesson that I learned through today’s session is new skills take time to develop. So if i find that I am floundering, I know that it’s okay. I just need to get myself back on track and try again. I can do this.2016-06-07 20.48.26

 

3 thoughts on “My tribe.”

  1. I feel like ADHD affects people differently. I have it as well and I can organize and plan… I just can’t do ONLY one thing. I must be over stimulated and often it is exhausting. Ugh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

