For my health.

So, my therapist recommended that I change my diet to vegan. No animal products. At all. I had tried vegan before with no success. She told me that research has shown that meat and dairy only exacerbate anxiety (and other issues), which I have found to be true as well. She recommended a couple of books for my reading enjoyment: The Starch Solution by Dr. John McDougall, The Engine 2 Diet: The Texas Firefighter’s 28-Day Save-Your-Life Plan that Lowers Cholesterol and Burns Away the Pounds by Rip Esselstyn, and 21-Day Weight Loss Kickstart by Neal D. Barnard, M.D. I did a little research on each of the books and found that Barnard’s book would probably best suit my needs. Even before purchasing the book, I decided I would change my diet. And this time, I would stick with it … for my health.

Outside of the book, I will be using the glycemic index as a resource, as well. Foods with higher glycemic index, such as white and wheat bread, turn to sugar in the body. Rye bread, which has a lower glycemic index, has become my friend in recent days.

Yesterday was day one of my twenty one day kickstart. I am going to be successful. I am going to be better and feel better. I WILL be a better me. This is day two of the rest of my life, and I am determined to make it count.

2 thoughts on “For my health.”

Leave a Reply

