Cars that make me smile

I’ve fallen in love with a number of cars over the years, most of which starred in my favorite movies or television shows. Okay, maybe they weren’t necessarily “stars” of the silver screen, but without them, my beloved shows wouldn’t exist (or at least be appealing to a thinky girl, like me). Let’s journey through memory lane together, as I recall my favorite four-wheeled thespians.

First, let’s start with my all-time favorite motorized “star”: the DeLorean time machine from Back to the Future 1, 2, and 3. The DeLorean was a stainless steel car with gull-wing doors. As a child watching Back to the Future, I was amazed at its capabilities and futuristic look, and, of course, experiencing the time machine’s reveal with Marty McFly, played by Michael J. Fox, made it even more impressive.

Next, who can forget that loveable bug, Herbie? Not me! Herbie was an adorable 1963 Volkswagon Beetle, with a giant “53” painted on its side. I believe that it was Herbie’s comic timing that won my heart. He certainly had a mind of his own!

Then, there was the 1977 Pontiac Trans Am that starred alongside human actors, Burt Reynolds, Sally Field, and Jackie Gleason, in Smokey and the Bandit. Outside of the Firebird painted on the hood, the way it would evade those sticky traps and speed by traffic romanticized the Trans Am. In my mind, it is the ultimate sports car.

Finally, I can’t discuss my favorite Hollywood cars without mentioning my favorite motorized, small screen actor. In Supernatural, it takes Sam and Dean Winchester (played by Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles respectively) all across America. It has a rich family history, being passed down from father, John Winchester (played by Jeffrey Dean Morgan), to son, Dean. It is Dean’s “baby”. Can you guess the make and model yet? It’s the 1967 Chevy Impala, a beautiful car that certainly has an active role in a popular sitcom. Where would Sam and Dean be without that iconic Impala?

Well, that’s it for my list of the top cars in Hollywood’s history. What would your top picks be?

Leave a Reply

